Last updated: August 2026
Disclaimer: CardRankr is a credit card comparison website, not a bank, financial institution, or licensed financial advisor. This article is for general informational purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or tax advice. Credit card terms, APR offers, fees, and conditions are set by the card issuers and may change at any time without notice. Always confirm current terms and conditions on the issuer’s official website before applying for any credit card. Consider your own financial situation carefully before making any credit decision. If you are carrying significant debt, speaking with a nonprofit credit counselor may also be beneficial.
A 0% APR credit card gives you a fixed window — typically 12 to 21 months — to carry a balance on purchases or transfer existing debt without paying any interest. Used correctly, it is one of the most powerful debt management tools available to U.S. consumers. A balance of $5,000 on a card charging 22% APR costs over $1,100 in annual interest. Transfer that balance to a 0% APR card and you eliminate that cost entirely during the intro period, letting every dollar of your monthly payment reduce principal rather than feed interest.
The 2026 0% APR card market is led by a cluster of 21-month offers — the longest currently available from major issuers — plus a solid tier of 15 to 18-month offers that pair interest-free windows with ongoing cash back rewards. The key decision is whether you need maximum time (21 months, no rewards) or a balance between a meaningful APR window and ongoing value (15 months, good rewards). This guide covers the top six options for both goals, with verified APR periods, fees, and post-period rates as of August 2026.
Important note before you apply: 0% APR offers are deferred interest on a true zero-interest basis on these cards — meaning no interest is retroactively charged on balances if you pay them off during the intro period. However, any balance remaining after the intro period starts accruing interest at the full ongoing variable APR immediately. Make sure your repayment plan accounts for the intro period deadline.
Best 0% APR Credit Cards of 2026 — At a Glance
| Card | Best For | Intro APR Period | Annual Fee | Rewards? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wells Fargo Reflect | Longest 0% window on purchases + BT | 21 months (purchases + BT) | $0 | No |
| Chase Slate | Long 0% window, Chase ecosystem | 21 months (purchases + BT) | $0 | No |
| Citi Simplicity | Long BT window + no late fees ever | 21 mo BT / 12 mo purchases | $0 | No |
| Chase Freedom Unlimited | Intro APR + strong ongoing rewards | 15 months (purchases + BT) | $0 | Yes — 5%/3%/1.5% cash back |
| Blue Cash Everyday (Amex) | Intro APR + grocery/gas/streaming rewards | 15 months (purchases + BT) | $0 | Yes — 3% groceries/gas/online retail |
| Citi Double Cash | Balance transfers + flat 2% cash back | 18 months (BT only) | $0 | Yes — 2% on everything |
How We Ranked These Cards
CardRankr’s editorial team evaluated each card across five criteria. No card issuer paid for placement or influenced our rankings.
- Intro APR period length: The number of months of 0% interest on purchases and/or balance transfers — the core reason to apply for one of these cards.
- Scope of 0% offer: Whether the intro APR covers purchases only, balance transfers only, or both — and the deadline to initiate qualifying balance transfers.
- Balance transfer fee: Most cards charge 3% to 5% of the transferred amount. A lower fee saves money, especially on large balances.
- Ongoing value: Whether the card earns rewards after the intro period ends — a key factor for cardholders who will keep the card long-term.
- Ongoing variable APR: The rate that kicks in once the intro period expires. A lower ongoing APR reduces the cost of any balance carried after the window closes.
The 6 Best 0% APR Credit Cards: Full Reviews
1. Wells Fargo Reflect Card — Best for Longest 0% Window on Purchases and Balance Transfers
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Intro APR | 0% for 21 months from account opening on purchases and qualifying balance transfers (BT must post within 120 days) |
| Ongoing APR | 17.49%, 23.99%, or 28.24% variable APR after intro period |
The Wells Fargo Reflect is the benchmark 0% APR card in 2026. Its 21-month intro period on both purchases and qualifying balance transfers is tied for the longest available from any major U.S. bank, and its ongoing APR range starts lower than most competitors at the same tier. Balance transfers must post within 120 days of account opening to qualify for the intro rate — a longer window than many cards that require transfers within 60 or 90 days. A 5% balance transfer fee applies (minimum $5), which is standard at this duration tier.
The card has no rewards program, no welcome bonus, and a 3% foreign transaction fee — which means its value is entirely front-loaded in the 21-month interest-free window. For anyone carrying high-interest debt or planning a large purchase they want to pay off over time without interest, this is the most effective tool on the market at no annual fee. The card also includes up to $600 in cellphone protection against damage or theft (subject to a $25 deductible) — a practical benefit for a card with no other perks.
Who it’s for: Anyone who wants the maximum possible interest-free runway for a large purchase or balance transfer and is comfortable using a separate rewards card for ongoing spending after the intro period. Ideal for paying down existing credit card debt transferred from a high-APR card, or for financing a large home expense, medical bill, or appliance purchase over time.
Watch-outs: No rewards means no ongoing value after month 21. The 3% foreign transaction fee makes this card useless for international spending. Balance transfers must post within 120 days — don’t procrastinate if you plan to transfer. The 5% balance transfer fee on a $10,000 transfer is $500 — compare that against the interest you would pay leaving the balance on a 22% APR card ($2,200/year) to confirm the math works in your favor. Do not use this card for non-essential spending if you’re relying on it to pay down existing debt.
2. Chase Slate Card — Best 21-Month Window Within the Chase Ecosystem
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Intro APR | 0% for 21 months on purchases and balance transfers (no stated transfer deadline) |
| Ongoing APR | 18.24%–28.24% variable APR after intro period |
The Chase Slate matches the Wells Fargo Reflect’s 21-month intro period on both purchases and balance transfers — and offers one distinctive advantage: unlike most 0% APR cards, it does not state a specific deadline to initiate balance transfers and still qualify for the intro rate. For cardholders who need flexibility in timing their transfer, this is a meaningful feature. The ongoing APR range starts slightly higher than the Reflect (18.24% floor versus 17.49%), but the difference is modest for cardholders who plan to pay off balances before the period ends.
Like the Reflect, the Slate carries no rewards program and no welcome bonus — its value is the 21-month window. A 5% balance transfer fee applies, and there is a foreign transaction fee. For existing Chase customers who already manage their finances through Chase online banking and prefer to consolidate accounts with one issuer, the Slate makes the 21-month offer accessible within the Chase ecosystem.
Who it’s for: Existing Chase customers who want the longest possible intro APR offer without switching banks, and who value the flexibility of no hard deadline on balance transfer initiation.
Watch-outs: Same as the Reflect — no ongoing rewards, foreign transaction fee applies. The slightly higher ongoing APR floor means a marginally higher cost for any balance carried past month 21. If you want a 21-month window plus ongoing Chase rewards, consider pairing the Slate with a no-annual-fee Chase rewards card like the Chase Freedom Unlimited for everyday spending.
3. Citi Simplicity Card — Best for Long Balance Transfer Window + No Late Fees
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Intro APR — balance transfers | 0% for 21 months (transfers completed within first 4 months; 3% BT fee, then 5%) |
| Intro APR — purchases | 0% for 12 months |
| Ongoing APR | 17.49%–28.24% variable APR after intro period |
The Citi Simplicity is unique among 21-month 0% cards for one specific reason: it never charges late fees and never applies a penalty APR if you miss a payment. Every other card on this list — and virtually every credit card in the U.S. market — charges a late fee (typically $25–$40) and may trigger a penalty APR if you pay late. The Simplicity’s policy of waiving both is a genuine differentiator for cardholders who are managing debt and want protection against a missed payment derailing their repayment plan.
The tradeoff is that the purchase intro APR is only 12 months versus the Reflect’s 21 months — the 21-month offer applies exclusively to balance transfers. If your primary goal is paying off existing debt rather than financing new purchases interest-free, the Simplicity’s 21-month balance transfer window plus its no-late-fee safety net is a compelling combination. The introductory balance transfer fee of 3% (within the first 4 months) is lower than the Reflect’s flat 5% — on a $10,000 transfer, that saves $200 in fees. For larger balance transfers, the Simplicity’s intro BT fee is the most favorable of any 21-month card on this list.
Who it’s for: Cardholders focused primarily on paying off existing credit card debt via balance transfer who want the longest possible BT window, the lowest intro transfer fee, and the security of no late fees or penalty APR. If you are worried about missing a payment during a tight repayment period, this card’s policies reduce the consequences significantly.
Watch-outs: The 12-month purchase intro APR is significantly shorter than the 21-month balance transfer offer — do not assume the longer window applies to new purchases. No rewards program, no welcome bonus. A 3% foreign transaction fee applies.
4. Chase Freedom Unlimited — Best 0% APR Card with Strong Ongoing Rewards
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Welcome offer (Aug 2026) | $200 cash back after $500 spend in 3 months |
| Intro APR | 0% for 15 months on purchases and balance transfers (3% BT fee for first 60 days, then 5%) |
| Ongoing APR | 18.24%–27.74% variable APR after intro period |
The Chase Freedom Unlimited is the strongest card on this list for cardholders who want both a meaningful 0% APR window and lasting value after the intro period ends. Its 15-month intro period on purchases and balance transfers covers most common repayment timelines — the average U.S. credit card balance of around $6,500 requires approximately $433/month to pay off in 15 months — and after the period, it becomes one of the best no-annual-fee cash back cards in the market.
The ongoing rewards structure is genuinely competitive: 5% cash back on Chase Travel, 3% on dining and drugstores, and 1.5% on all other purchases — with no annual cap and no rotating categories to activate. For a deeper look at the Freedom Unlimited and how it compares to other no-fee cards, see our guide Best Credit Cards with No Annual Fee (2026): Top 6 Picks.
Who it’s for: Cardholders who need 12 to 15 months of 0% APR for a planned large purchase or moderate debt consolidation, and who want to keep and use the card long-term for its rewards structure. Also excellent as an intro-period card that converts naturally into an everyday spending card.
Watch-outs: The 15-month window is 6 months shorter than the 21-month leaders — if you need maximum time to pay off a large balance, choose the Reflect, Slate, or Simplicity instead. The 3% foreign transaction fee limits international usefulness. Balance transfer fee is 3% for the first 60 days, then rises to 5% — initiate transfers within 60 days to save on fees.
5. Blue Cash Everyday Card from American Express — Best 0% APR Card for Grocery and Gas Spenders
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Welcome offer (Aug 2026) | Up to $200 cash back after $2,000 spend in 6 months (offers vary) |
| Intro APR | 0% for 15 months on purchases and balance transfers (3% BT fee or $5 min, whichever is greater) |
| Ongoing APR | 19.49%–28.49% variable APR after intro period |
The Blue Cash Everyday is the strongest 0% APR card on this list for households with significant grocery and gas spending. It earns 3% cash back at U.S. supermarkets (up to $6,000/year), 3% at U.S. gas stations, and 3% on U.S. online retail — all with no annual fee and a 15-month 0% intro period on both purchases and balance transfers. The card also includes a $7/month Disney Streaming Credit ($84/year), which effectively reduces the card’s carrying cost to negative for any household that subscribes to Disney+, Hulu, or ESPN+.
For a full comparison of the Blue Cash Everyday versus the Blue Cash Preferred and its higher grocery earn rate, see our roundup Best Credit Card for Groceries in 2026: Top 6 Picks Compared.
Who it’s for: Cardholders who need 0% APR for 15 months and also spend heavily at U.S. supermarkets, gas stations, or Amazon. A practical everyday card that earns well on essential household categories after the intro period ends.
Watch-outs: The 15-month window is shorter than the 21-month options. The ongoing APR floor (19.49%) is higher than the Reflect (17.49%), meaning any balance carried past the intro period costs more. The 3% grocery bonus applies only to U.S. supermarkets — not Walmart, Target, or Costco. A 2.7% foreign transaction fee applies.
6. Citi Double Cash Card — Best 0% Balance Transfer Card with Flat 2% Rewards
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Intro APR — balance transfers | 0% for 18 months (BT fee: 3% or $5 min, whichever greater; transfers within first 4 months) |
| Intro APR — purchases | None (standard APR applies from day one on purchases) |
| Ongoing APR | 17.49%–27.49% variable APR |
The Citi Double Cash is the best card for cardholders whose primary goal is paying off existing debt via a balance transfer while earning one of the best flat cash back rates available after the intro period. The 18-month balance transfer offer is longer than the Freedom Unlimited’s 15-month combined offer, and the ongoing 2% cash back on all purchases (1% when you buy, 1% when you pay) is among the highest flat-rate returns with no annual fee. For a full comparison of the Double Cash versus the Chase Freedom Unlimited as everyday cards, see our article Citi Double Cash vs. Chase Freedom Unlimited (2026): Which No-Fee Card Wins?
Who it’s for: Cardholders who want an 18-month window to pay off a transferred balance and who plan to keep the card long-term for its flat 2% cash back on all spending. Best as a dedicated balance transfer card paired with a separate rewards card for new purchases during the payoff period.
Watch-outs: The 0% intro APR does NOT apply to new purchases — this is the most important caveat on this card and the most commonly misunderstood. Using the Double Cash for new spending during the payoff period will accrue interest on those purchases from day one. Balance transfers must be completed within the first 4 months to qualify for the intro rate. A 3% foreign transaction fee applies.
Full Comparison Table
| Card | Annual Fee | 0% Purchase Period | 0% BT Period | BT Fee | Ongoing APR | Ongoing Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wells Fargo Reflect | $0 | 21 months | 21 months (within 120 days) | 5% min $5 | 17.49%–28.24% | None |
| Chase Slate | $0 | 21 months | 21 months (no deadline stated) | 5% min $5 | 18.24%–28.24% | None |
| Citi Simplicity | $0 | 12 months | 21 months (within 4 months; 3% intro fee) | 3% intro / 5% after | 17.49%–28.24% | None |
| Chase Freedom Unlimited | $0 | 15 months | 15 months (3% fee within 60 days, then 5%) | 3% / 5% | 18.24%–27.74% | 5%/3%/1.5% cash back |
| Blue Cash Everyday | $0 | 15 months | 15 months (3% fee or $5 min) | 3% min $5 | 19.49%–28.49% | 3% groceries/gas/online retail |
| Citi Double Cash | $0 | None | 18 months (within 4 months; 3% fee) | 3% min $5 | 17.49%–27.49% | 2% all purchases |
How to Choose the Right 0% APR Card for You
First: decide between maximum time versus ongoing rewards
The core 0% APR card decision is a trade-off: the longest intro periods (21 months) come on cards with no rewards and no welcome bonuses. The cards with strong rewards (Freedom Unlimited, Blue Cash Everyday) offer shorter windows of 15 months. If you have a large balance or purchase that genuinely requires 18 to 21 months to pay off, choose the Reflect, Slate, or Simplicity and use a separate rewards card for everyday spending. If 15 months is enough — and for most cardholders paying $300 to $500 per month, it is — the Freedom Unlimited or Blue Cash Everyday deliver significantly more long-term value.
Run the repayment math before you apply
Divide your target balance by the number of intro months to see your required monthly payment. For a $6,000 balance: 21 months requires $286/month; 15 months requires $400/month; 12 months requires $500/month. Be honest about what you can realistically pay per month. Choosing a 21-month card and only paying $200/month means you will still have a $1,800 balance when the 0% period ends — at which point the full variable APR kicks in. Build a concrete payoff plan before applying and stick to it.
Factor in the balance transfer fee
Every card on this list charges a balance transfer fee of 3% to 5% of the transferred balance — a cost that is paid upfront regardless of the intro period. On a $10,000 balance, a 3% fee is $300 and a 5% fee is $500. Compare the fee against the interest you would pay leaving the balance on its current card for the same period. At 22% APR, a $10,000 balance costs $2,200 per year in interest — paying even a 5% transfer fee ($500) and eliminating interest for 21 months saves approximately $4,100 net. The math almost always favors the transfer for balances over $2,000 on cards charging 20%+ APR.
Know the deadline for initiating balance transfers
Most 0% APR cards require you to initiate balance transfers within a specific window after account opening (typically 60 to 120 days) to qualify for the intro rate. The Chase Slate does not state a specific deadline. The Wells Fargo Reflect gives 120 days. The Citi Simplicity and Double Cash give 4 months. Miss the deadline and your transfer will carry the standard variable APR — likely 17% to 28% — from day one. Mark the deadline on your calendar the day you receive the card and initiate the transfer promptly.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the longest 0% APR period available in 2026?
The longest 0% APR periods currently available from major issuers in 2026 are 21 months — offered by the Wells Fargo Reflect Card (purchases and qualifying balance transfers), the Chase Slate Card (purchases and balance transfers), and the Citi Simplicity Card (balance transfers only; purchases get 12 months). All three carry no annual fee. The Wells Fargo Reflect is generally considered the strongest of the three because it carries a lower ongoing APR floor and the same 21-month window on both purchases and balance transfers.
Does 0% APR mean no interest at all?
Yes — on the cards listed in this article. A true 0% intro APR means no interest is charged on covered balances during the stated intro period, and crucially, no interest is retroactively charged if you pay off the balance before the period ends. This is different from deferred interest promotions offered by some store cards and financing offers, where the full interest accumulates invisibly and is charged retroactively if any balance remains at the end of the promotional period. All six cards on this list use true 0% APR, not deferred interest. Always verify this distinction before applying for any promotional financing offer.
What credit score do I need for a 0% APR credit card?
Most 0% APR cards — including all six on this list — require good to excellent credit, generally a FICO score of 670 or above. Cards with the longest intro periods (21 months) and lowest ongoing APR ranges tend to require scores of 700 or above for the best terms. Cardholders with scores below 670 are less likely to be approved for the extended intro periods and may receive shorter windows or higher ongoing APRs if approved. If your credit score is below 670, focus on credit-building strategies before applying — the best 0% APR offers are reserved for the most creditworthy applicants.
Should I transfer a balance or just pay it off on my current card?
If your current card charges 18% APR or higher and you cannot pay off the balance within 3 to 6 months, a balance transfer to a 0% intro card almost always saves money. The math is straightforward: compare the balance transfer fee (3% to 5%) against the interest you would pay leaving the balance at its current rate for the duration of the intro period. At 22% APR, a $5,000 balance costs $1,100 in annual interest. A 5% transfer fee costs $250 and eliminates all interest for 21 months — a net saving of approximately $2,050. For balances under $1,000 or cardholders who can pay off within 90 days, the transfer fee may not be worth it. Run your specific numbers before deciding.
Can I use a 0% APR card for both a balance transfer and new purchases?
Yes — with a critical warning. On cards where the 0% APR covers both purchases and balance transfers (Wells Fargo Reflect, Chase Slate, Chase Freedom Unlimited, Blue Cash Everyday), you can use the card for new purchases and also transfer a balance, and both will be interest-free during the intro period. However, most financial advisors recommend against making new purchases on a balance transfer card if your goal is paying off the transferred debt. Every new purchase adds to the balance you need to pay down, potentially preventing you from eliminating the transferred balance before the 0% window ends. If you need to transfer a balance, use the 0% card exclusively for debt repayment and a separate card for new purchases.
Are there no-annual-fee options for 0% APR?
Yes — all six cards on this list charge no annual fee. The 0% APR market is almost entirely a no-annual-fee category; cards with annual fees rarely offer intro APR periods because their value proposition rests on rewards and benefits rather than interest savings. For a broader comparison of strong no-annual-fee cards that combine rewards with modest 0% intro offers, see our guide Best Credit Cards with No Annual Fee (2026): Top 6 Picks.
What happens if I miss a payment during the 0% APR period?
Missing a payment can have serious consequences — which vary by card. On most 0% APR cards (including the Wells Fargo Reflect, Chase Slate, and Chase Freedom Unlimited), a missed payment triggers a late fee (typically $25 to $40) and may immediately terminate the 0% intro APR, causing the standard variable APR to apply to your remaining balance. The Citi Simplicity is the exception: it never charges late fees and never applies a penalty APR for late payments — one of its defining features. If you are concerned about missing payments during a repayment period, the Simplicity’s policy provides a meaningful safety net. Regardless of card, set up autopay for at least the minimum payment to avoid accidental late payments.
Our Editorial Approach
CardRankr is an independent credit card comparison website. We are not affiliated with any card issuer, and no issuer paid for placement in this guide. All APR periods, balance transfer fees, and ongoing rates were verified against issuer websites (wellsfargo.com, chase.com, citi.com, americanexpress.com) and leading financial media as of August 2026. APR periods and terms change frequently — always confirm current offers on the issuer’s official website before applying.
Read Next
- Best Balance Transfer Credit Cards of 2026: Top 6 Picks
- Best Credit Cards with No Annual Fee (2026): Top 6 Picks
- Citi Double Cash vs. Chase Freedom Unlimited (2026): Which No-Fee Card Wins?
- Best Cash Back Credit Cards of 2026: Top 7 Picks Compared
- Best Credit Card for Groceries in 2026: Top 6 Picks Compared
- Best Credit Cards for Beginners in 2026: Top 5 First Cards Compared
